The Official Dallas Turner thread

A forum for the hard core Minnesota Vikings fan. Discuss upcoming games, opponents, trades, draft or what ever is on the minds of Viking fans!

Moderator: Moderators

VikingsVictorious
Hall of Fame Inductee

The Official Dallas Turner thread

Post by VikingsVictorious »

I've been studying up on the draft for a couple months now and Turner was 9 times out of 10 the first defender taken. He is a defensive QB sacking machine.
VikingsVictorious
Hall of Fame Inductee

Re: The Official Dallas Turner thread

Here's an excellent evaluation of the Turner Pick. They only give it a B grade because of the high price we paid to get him, but they also call him the best defender in the draft.

17. Minnesota Vikings (via Jacksonville): Dallas Turner, EDGE, Alabama
Strengths: Lightning-quick, fluid defender off the edge, excellent flexibility, quickness to disrupt the run, pop in his hands to employ bull rush and stack blockers

Weaknesses: Can add strength and bulk, gets hung up on blocks once engaged, still developing pass-rush technique

Dallas Turner's upside is extraordinary. He didn't really even start to realize his immense potential until this past season with the Alabama Crimson Tide.

Turner originally joined the program as a 5-star recruit, but he played second fiddle to Will Anderson Jr. during his first two seasons with the Crimson Tide. Turner always had plenty of natural ability, but he had to get out of Anderson's shadow.

"Honestly, like the main thing he told me, just relax," Turner told reporters in August. ".. It's all about football now. It's not, just don't put so much pressure on yourself. Because you know, the type of name and all the hype you have to quote-unquote, live up to. You know, just relax, and be you. Everything will fall in place."

Anderson was right. Turner registered 14.5 tackles for loss and 10 sacks on his way to become the co-SEC Defensive Player of the Year and a consensus All-American.