Happy dance!!

Run into some old friends from another group or board? Want to do a little schmoozing, talk over old times? Or just some off topic stuff, then this is the place.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
DeeEss57
All Pro Elite Player
Posts: 1281
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:45 pm
Location: Zenith City of the Inland Seas

Happy dance!!

Post by DeeEss57 » Sat Aug 11, 2007 7:42 pm

:banana: :banana: :cheer: :elephant: :banana2:

Just bought a new computer! Finally, after 6 months of computer purgatory, I have something that doesn't take all day to load! Woohoo!



Dawn

User avatar
John
Bartender/Retired
Posts: 9381
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: Minnesota

Post by John » Sat Aug 11, 2007 7:56 pm

And you deserve it, Dawn. Great news, have fun!

John

User avatar
Kansas Viking
Starship Commander
Posts: 11255
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 5:08 am
Location: Cestus III
Contact:

Re: Happy dance!!

Post by Kansas Viking » Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:51 pm

DeeEss57 wrote::banana: :banana: :cheer: :elephant: :banana2:

Just bought a new computer! Finally, after 6 months of computer purgatory, I have something that doesn't take all day to load! Woohoo!



Dawn
Congrats. You can never have too many new electronic toys. :)
Mike

Image

VikingMachine
Hall of Famer
Posts: 5063
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:12 pm
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Contact:

Post by VikingMachine » Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:32 pm

Congrats Dawn!

Its almost as good a feeling as when you get a new car...almost but not quite. Enjoy it!!!

User avatar
yayanjl
Practice Squad
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:55 pm
Location: Superior, WI
Contact:

Post by yayanjl » Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:38 pm

Hope you have fun with it :P
Image

User avatar
Minniman
Hall of Famer
Posts: 7416
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:07 am
Location: Vikingland Minnesota

Post by Minniman » Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:03 am

Did you have the store put on Windows XP and save the Vista discs for later, or did you register Vista?
We come from the land of the ice and snow .... :smilevike:

Demi
Commissioner
Posts: 23761
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 4:24 pm

Post by Demi » Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:04 am

Minniman wrote:Did you have the store put on Windows XP and save the Vista discs for later, or did you register Vista?
Way to try and kill the buzz, buzzkill!

User avatar
jackal
Strong Safety
Posts: 11558
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 2:05 am
Location: California

good

Post by jackal » Sun Aug 12, 2007 5:12 am

yeah !!!!!!!!!! Dawn

we expected a lot more posts now(j/k)

seriously good for you it sucks to have a slow computer.
no one expects the Spanish Inquisition!

User avatar
PurpleMustReign
Starting Wide Receiver
Posts: 18383
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:48 pm
Location: Crystal, MN
Contact:

Post by PurpleMustReign » Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:04 am

Demi wrote: Way to try and kill the buzz, buzzkill!


:point: :point:
The Devil whispered in the Viking's ear, "There's a storm coming." The Viking replied, "I am the storm." ‪#‎SKOL2017 #BringitHome‬

User avatar
PurpleMustReign
Starting Wide Receiver
Posts: 18383
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:48 pm
Location: Crystal, MN
Contact:

Re: Happy dance!!

Post by PurpleMustReign » Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:05 am

Kansas Viking wrote: Congrats. You can never have too many new electronic toys. :)

That sounds a bit seedy Mike... :P

Good for you Dawn. I love getting a new computer. Its soooo nice not to have to wait for stuff.
The Devil whispered in the Viking's ear, "There's a storm coming." The Viking replied, "I am the storm." ‪#‎SKOL2017 #BringitHome‬

User avatar
DeeEss57
All Pro Elite Player
Posts: 1281
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:45 pm
Location: Zenith City of the Inland Seas

Post by DeeEss57 » Sun Aug 12, 2007 1:36 pm

Minniman wrote:Did you have the store put on Windows XP and save the Vista discs for later, or did you register Vista?

It didn't come with CDs. :( But I'm going to put my XP hard drive in it and see what happens. If it works, I'll slave the Vista drive. So far, I have to say I like XP. The jury is out on Vista. But I *have* changed everything to 'Windows Classic', so it feels more like a familiar computer.



Dawn

VikingMachine
Hall of Famer
Posts: 5063
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:12 pm
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Contact:

Post by VikingMachine » Sun Aug 12, 2007 4:39 pm

My new laptop came pre-installed with Vista and after 6 months I can report NO problems in any way shape or form. I dont know what the big deal is. I am sure there are compatability problems with certian things but as far as i can see its not a major issue, not much different than anytime a new operating system comes out. I remember people complaining nonstop about XP when that came out too as well as other versions.

User avatar
S197
Fenrir
Posts: 11222
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:28 pm
Location: Hawaii

Post by S197 » Sun Aug 12, 2007 6:19 pm

My experience has been the exact opposite of VikingMachine. Vista has been a constant headache for just about everyone I know who has gotten a computer this past year.

User avatar
John
Bartender/Retired
Posts: 9381
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: Minnesota

Post by John » Sun Aug 12, 2007 7:07 pm

I'm such a old fart that I had a computer loaded with Win2000 pro when I bought it in '06. I give them years to get the bugs out. :oops: I did finally did upgrade to XP (the disk came with the PC), I figure I'll be ready for Vista by about 2020. :)

User avatar
DeeEss57
All Pro Elite Player
Posts: 1281
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:45 pm
Location: Zenith City of the Inland Seas

Post by DeeEss57 » Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:18 am

John wrote:I'm such a old fart that I had a computer loaded with Win2000 pro when I bought it in '06. I give them years to get the bugs out. :oops: I did finally did upgrade to XP (the disk came with the PC), I figure I'll be ready for Vista by about 2020. :)

My first computer was a laptop which came with Windows 3.1. Bought it in 1993. Bought a new desktop several years later. It had Windows 95. I kept that one until 2003, when I got one with Windows ME. That's the computer which fried in February. Since then, I've been using a 400 mhz computer with 192 mb of RAM running XP Pro. It ran slow, but XP's not bad.

I'm finding there are things about Vista I don't like. It doesn't have 'My Computer' on the desktop for one. Even in Classic view. But, really, all I want is to be able to get 'File Manager' back!




Dawn

User avatar
Minniman
Hall of Famer
Posts: 7416
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:07 am
Location: Vikingland Minnesota

Post by Minniman » Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:53 am

Demi wrote: Way to try and kill the buzz, buzzkill!
Yeah, because letting people fall into a snakepit is your idea of fun?

It was a simple question. One of the things I do on the side is playtest and betatest computer games. Vista is a scourge. Games that run full speed on XP can often run at 3/4 speed on Vista or worse.

Try running gimped games in an FPS, and you could be dead - especially if it a multiplayer game. Lag and choppy screens are not my idea of fun.

If one can do it, it is best to load XP and save Vista for later. Some people cannot do it, so it is moot, but heavy gamers certainly do it often with new machines.

Minniman
We come from the land of the ice and snow .... :smilevike:

User avatar
Cliff
Site Admin
Posts: 8306
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 5:51 pm
Location: Kentucky

Post by Cliff » Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:54 am

DeeEss57 wrote:
My first computer was a laptop which came with Windows 3.1. Bought it in 1993. Bought a new desktop several years later. It had Windows 95. I kept that one until 2003, when I got one with Windows ME. That's the computer which fried in February. Since then, I've been using a 400 mhz computer with 192 mb of RAM running XP Pro. It ran slow, but XP's not bad.

I'm finding there are things about Vista I don't like. It doesn't have 'My Computer' on the desktop for one. Even in Classic view. But, really, all I want is to be able to get 'File Manager' back!




Dawn
I won't load vista on any computer I own until the first service pack comes out. However, we do have one at work (We do tech support, so we've got the computer setup on remote desktop so we can walk users through various "vista" settings).

If you want "My Computer" on your desktop right click on some empty space on the desktop and go to "Personalize" at the bottom of that list.

On the next screen click "Change Desktop Icons" on the left hand side.

Check "computer" then click ok. (Vista just renamed "My Computer" to "Computer" but it's the same basic thing).
"Everyone has a plan 'til they get punched in the mouth." - Mike Tyson

User avatar
Cliff
Site Admin
Posts: 8306
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 5:51 pm
Location: Kentucky

Post by Cliff » Mon Aug 13, 2007 1:24 pm

Minniman wrote: Yeah, because letting people fall into a snakepit is your idea of fun?

It was a simple question. One of the things I do on the side is playtest and betatest computer games. Vista is a scourge. Games that run full speed on XP can often run at 3/4 speed on Vista or worse.

Try running gimped games in an FPS, and you could be dead - especially if it a multiplayer game. Lag and choppy screens are not my idea of fun.

If one can do it, it is best to load XP and save Vista for later. Some people cannot do it, so it is moot, but heavy gamers certainly do it often with new machines.

Minniman
I'm not surprised. I was amazed at the "recommended minimum requirements" for Windows Vista.

However Minniman, as much as you like gaming, I suspect that you'll be switching to Vista before too much longer, as DirectX 10 will not be compatible with Windows XP.
"Everyone has a plan 'til they get punched in the mouth." - Mike Tyson

Demi
Commissioner
Posts: 23761
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 4:24 pm

Post by Demi » Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:17 pm

I'm not surprised. I was amazed at the "recommended minimum requirements" for Windows Vista.

However Minniman, as much as you like gaming, I suspect that you'll be switching to Vista before too much longer, as DirectX 10 will not be compatible with Windows XP.
And I doubt Dawn will be doing much first person gaming! Vista is fine for most average computer users. Just like XP was early on. By the time Directx 10 is released most issues should have workarounds if not fixed. Heck, I was using windows 98 until they quit releasing patches and drivers for it. I'll be sticking to XP for quite a while!

User avatar
Minniman
Hall of Famer
Posts: 7416
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:07 am
Location: Vikingland Minnesota

Post by Minniman » Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:07 am

It didn't come with CDs. But I'm going to put my XP hard drive in it and see what happens. If it works, I'll slave the Vista drive. So far, I have to say I like XP. The jury is out on Vista. But I *have* changed everything to 'Windows Classic', so it feels more like a familiar computer.
In order to use XP, you would need XP or XP compatable drivers. Some new machines do not have them. Yes, it is a plot to force Vista on us. Developers can't even use .dll files that would allow games to work with Windows 98se.
However Minniman, as much as you like gaming, I suspect that you'll be switching to Vista before too much longer, as DirectX 10 will not be compatible with Windows XP.
Many computers sold with Vista won't work worth a darn with DirectX10 games anyway, but your point is valid.
And I doubt Dawn will be doing much first person gaming! Vista is fine for most average computer users.
Maybe Dawn would like to play Assassin's Creed or Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Perhaps she wants to play WoW or Everquest II online. Maybe she wants to play as the Vikings in Madden NFL 08 or has been waiting to purchase Age of Empires III or Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.

One never knows.
We come from the land of the ice and snow .... :smilevike:

User avatar
DeeEss57
All Pro Elite Player
Posts: 1281
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:45 pm
Location: Zenith City of the Inland Seas

Post by DeeEss57 » Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:43 pm

[quote="DemiAnd I doubt Dawn will be doing much first person gaming! Vista is fine for most average computer users.[/quote]

You can't get them all right. I love FPS. Got MOHAA on the 'puter right now. Want to get AOE III and Commandos 3. I'll be loading Quake and Hexen, too, just to see if they'll work on the duo core processor. And I'll probably be getting COD sometime in the future.

Can't get Alpha Centauri Alien Crossfire to work on the new computer, though, and it's makin' me mad. I love that game! I'm just going to load everything I've got on it and hope most of them work.




Dawn
Duke Nukem rocks!

User avatar
Minniman
Hall of Famer
Posts: 7416
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:07 am
Location: Vikingland Minnesota

Post by Minniman » Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:14 pm

I love FPS. Got MOHAA on the 'puter right now.
There we are.

It's nice to read that you play many types of games.
Alpha Centauri Alien Crossfire
That is a Windows 98se game (1999 release), so the .dll files are likely not on the computer or changed enough to make the game incompatable.

It is a good idea to keep your old computer for older games.

What graphics are in the new machine? Some new machines are lacking in graphics firepower and on board installed memory.

Minniman
We come from the land of the ice and snow .... :smilevike:

User avatar
BGM
Hall of Famer
Posts: 5948
Joined: Wed May 14, 2003 11:39 am

Post by BGM » Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:20 pm

Minniman wrote: or Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.
I have not had any problems with Oblivion, except that I can't play it with all the visual candy on. But that is pretty secondary to me, anyway.

BGM
"You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline. It helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer." - Frank Zappa

VikingMachine
Hall of Famer
Posts: 5063
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:12 pm
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Contact:

Post by VikingMachine » Tue Aug 14, 2007 4:06 pm

Minniman wrote: In order to use XP, you would need XP or XP compatable drivers. Some new machines do not have them. Yes, it is a plot to force Vista on us. Developers can't even use .dll files that would allow games to work with Windows 98se.
Many computers sold with Vista won't work worth a darn with DirectX10 games anyway, but your point is valid.
Maybe Dawn would like to play Assassin's Creed or Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Perhaps she wants to play WoW or Everquest II online. Maybe she wants to play as the Vikings in Madden NFL 08 or has been waiting to purchase Age of Empires III or Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.

One never knows.
I play World of Warcraft some and played a ton of Call of Duty over the years. I am sure I will get the next Call of Duty, let me know if you get it and what server you play on for multiplayer....I'd love to frag your a$$! :D

User avatar
Minniman
Hall of Famer
Posts: 7416
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:07 am
Location: Vikingland Minnesota

Post by Minniman » Wed Aug 15, 2007 1:50 am

Yeah, right.

I don't play many FPS games, although there are some nice looking games coming out soon. Even with that, they are all sort of the same, run, fire, change weapon, fire, reload, rinse, repeat.

I play more strategy games and wargames, and I generally beta test those.

I used to play Everquest when it was new. It was fun back then.

World of Warcraft looks sort of awful with all of the EGA colors. Purple, Green, and Orange are so 80's. I guess it plays all right, but I just cannot get into it.

I'd love to see a real online roleplaying game rather than a slashfest treadmill.
We come from the land of the ice and snow .... :smilevike:

User avatar
Cliff
Site Admin
Posts: 8306
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 5:51 pm
Location: Kentucky

Post by Cliff » Wed Aug 15, 2007 8:03 am

Minniman wrote:Yeah, right.

I don't play many FPS games, although there are some nice looking games coming out soon. Even with that, they are all sort of the same, run, fire, change weapon, fire, reload, rinse, repeat.

I play more strategy games and wargames, and I generally beta test those.

I used to play Everquest when it was new. It was fun back then.

World of Warcraft looks sort of awful with all of the EGA colors. Purple, Green, and Orange are so 80's. I guess it plays all right, but I just cannot get into it.

I'd love to see a real online roleplaying game rather than a slashfest treadmill.
With all the new games that come out on a regular basis the game I find myself playing more than any other is Chain of Command. It's a war/strategy real time multiplayer game that came out in the mid/late 90s lol

The graphics are horrible and it's a little glitchy, but it's a fun game.
"Everyone has a plan 'til they get punched in the mouth." - Mike Tyson

User avatar
DeeEss57
All Pro Elite Player
Posts: 1281
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:45 pm
Location: Zenith City of the Inland Seas

Post by DeeEss57 » Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:02 am

Minniman wrote:What graphics are in the new machine? Some new machines are lacking in graphics firepower and on board installed memory.

It came with NVidia GeForce 6150 SE graphics. But a had another GeForce card ready to go in if it didn't.

The problem with the old computer isn't it really wasn't my old computer. It was something I got from work just so I could have some kind of computer when mine went down. But I suppose I could put another hard drive in it and load SMAX on it so I can play it. But that's a bit of a pain in the butt. On the new computer I get a 'CPU Not supported' message.




Dawn

Post Reply