View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:56 am



Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 
 Happy dance!! 
Author Message
All Pro Elite Player
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:45 pm
Posts: 1281
Location: Zenith City of the Inland Seas
Post Happy dance!!
:banana: :banana: :cheer: :elephant: :banana2:

Just bought a new computer! Finally, after 6 months of computer purgatory, I have something that doesn't take all day to load! Woohoo!



Dawn


Sat Aug 11, 2007 7:42 pm
Profile
Bartender/Retired
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 4:15 pm
Posts: 9381
Location: Minnesota
Post 
And you deserve it, Dawn. Great news, have fun!

John


Sat Aug 11, 2007 7:56 pm
Profile
Starship Commander
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 5:08 am
Posts: 11253
Location: Cestus III
Post Re: Happy dance!!
DeeEss57 wrote:
:banana: :banana: :cheer: :elephant: :banana2:

Just bought a new computer! Finally, after 6 months of computer purgatory, I have something that doesn't take all day to load! Woohoo!



Dawn


Congrats. You can never have too many new electronic toys. :)

_________________
Mike

Image


Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:51 pm
Profile WWW
Hall of Famer

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:12 pm
Posts: 5063
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Post 
Congrats Dawn!

Its almost as good a feeling as when you get a new car...almost but not quite. Enjoy it!!!


Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:32 pm
Profile
Practice Squad
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:55 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Superior, WI
Post 
Hope you have fun with it :P

_________________
Image


Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:38 pm
Profile YIM
Hall of Famer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:07 am
Posts: 7415
Location: Vikingland Minnesota
Post 
Did you have the store put on Windows XP and save the Vista discs for later, or did you register Vista?

_________________
We come from the land of the ice and snow .... :smilevike:


Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:03 am
Profile
Commissioner

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 4:24 pm
Posts: 23761
Post 
Minniman wrote:
Did you have the store put on Windows XP and save the Vista discs for later, or did you register Vista?


Way to try and kill the buzz, buzzkill!


Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:04 am
Profile
Strong Safety
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 2:05 am
Posts: 11402
Location: California
Post good
yeah !!!!!!!!!! Dawn

we expected a lot more posts now(j/k)

seriously good for you it sucks to have a slow computer.

_________________
no one expects the Spanish Inquisition!


Sun Aug 12, 2007 5:12 am
Profile
Starting Wide Receiver
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:48 pm
Posts: 17771
Location: Crystal, MN
Post 
Demi wrote:
Minniman wrote:
Did you have the store put on Windows XP and save the Vista discs for later, or did you register Vista?


Way to try and kill the buzz, buzzkill!


:point: :point:

_________________
The Devil whispered in the Viking's ear, "There's a storm coming." The Viking replied, "I am the storm." ‪#‎SKOL2016‬


Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:04 am
Profile YIM WWW
Starting Wide Receiver
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:48 pm
Posts: 17771
Location: Crystal, MN
Post Re: Happy dance!!
Kansas Viking wrote:
DeeEss57 wrote:
:banana: :banana: :cheer: :elephant: :banana2:

Just bought a new computer! Finally, after 6 months of computer purgatory, I have something that doesn't take all day to load! Woohoo!



Dawn


Congrats. You can never have too many new electronic toys. :)



That sounds a bit seedy Mike... :P

Good for you Dawn. I love getting a new computer. Its soooo nice not to have to wait for stuff.

_________________
The Devil whispered in the Viking's ear, "There's a storm coming." The Viking replied, "I am the storm." ‪#‎SKOL2016‬


Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:05 am
Profile YIM WWW
All Pro Elite Player
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:45 pm
Posts: 1281
Location: Zenith City of the Inland Seas
Post 
Minniman wrote:
Did you have the store put on Windows XP and save the Vista discs for later, or did you register Vista?



It didn't come with CDs. :( But I'm going to put my XP hard drive in it and see what happens. If it works, I'll slave the Vista drive. So far, I have to say I like XP. The jury is out on Vista. But I *have* changed everything to 'Windows Classic', so it feels more like a familiar computer.



Dawn


Sun Aug 12, 2007 1:36 pm
Profile
Hall of Famer

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:12 pm
Posts: 5063
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Post 
My new laptop came pre-installed with Vista and after 6 months I can report NO problems in any way shape or form. I dont know what the big deal is. I am sure there are compatability problems with certian things but as far as i can see its not a major issue, not much different than anytime a new operating system comes out. I remember people complaining nonstop about XP when that came out too as well as other versions.


Sun Aug 12, 2007 4:39 pm
Profile
Fenrir
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:28 pm
Posts: 10694
Location: Hawaii
Post 
My experience has been the exact opposite of VikingMachine. Vista has been a constant headache for just about everyone I know who has gotten a computer this past year.


Sun Aug 12, 2007 6:19 pm
Profile
Bartender/Retired
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 4:15 pm
Posts: 9381
Location: Minnesota
Post 
I'm such a old fart that I had a computer loaded with Win2000 pro when I bought it in '06. I give them years to get the bugs out. :oops: I did finally did upgrade to XP (the disk came with the PC), I figure I'll be ready for Vista by about 2020. :)


Sun Aug 12, 2007 7:07 pm
Profile
All Pro Elite Player
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:45 pm
Posts: 1281
Location: Zenith City of the Inland Seas
Post 
John wrote:
I'm such a old fart that I had a computer loaded with Win2000 pro when I bought it in '06. I give them years to get the bugs out. :oops: I did finally did upgrade to XP (the disk came with the PC), I figure I'll be ready for Vista by about 2020. :)



My first computer was a laptop which came with Windows 3.1. Bought it in 1993. Bought a new desktop several years later. It had Windows 95. I kept that one until 2003, when I got one with Windows ME. That's the computer which fried in February. Since then, I've been using a 400 mhz computer with 192 mb of RAM running XP Pro. It ran slow, but XP's not bad.

I'm finding there are things about Vista I don't like. It doesn't have 'My Computer' on the desktop for one. Even in Classic view. But, really, all I want is to be able to get 'File Manager' back!




Dawn


Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:18 am
Profile
Hall of Famer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:07 am
Posts: 7415
Location: Vikingland Minnesota
Post 
Demi wrote:
Minniman wrote:
Did you have the store put on Windows XP and save the Vista discs for later, or did you register Vista?

Way to try and kill the buzz, buzzkill!


Yeah, because letting people fall into a snakepit is your idea of fun?

It was a simple question. One of the things I do on the side is playtest and betatest computer games. Vista is a scourge. Games that run full speed on XP can often run at 3/4 speed on Vista or worse.

Try running gimped games in an FPS, and you could be dead - especially if it a multiplayer game. Lag and choppy screens are not my idea of fun.

If one can do it, it is best to load XP and save Vista for later. Some people cannot do it, so it is moot, but heavy gamers certainly do it often with new machines.

Minniman

_________________
We come from the land of the ice and snow .... :smilevike:


Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:53 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 5:51 pm
Posts: 8059
Location: Kentucky
Post 
DeeEss57 wrote:
John wrote:
I'm such a old fart that I had a computer loaded with Win2000 pro when I bought it in '06. I give them years to get the bugs out. :oops: I did finally did upgrade to XP (the disk came with the PC), I figure I'll be ready for Vista by about 2020. :)



My first computer was a laptop which came with Windows 3.1. Bought it in 1993. Bought a new desktop several years later. It had Windows 95. I kept that one until 2003, when I got one with Windows ME. That's the computer which fried in February. Since then, I've been using a 400 mhz computer with 192 mb of RAM running XP Pro. It ran slow, but XP's not bad.

I'm finding there are things about Vista I don't like. It doesn't have 'My Computer' on the desktop for one. Even in Classic view. But, really, all I want is to be able to get 'File Manager' back!




Dawn


I won't load vista on any computer I own until the first service pack comes out. However, we do have one at work (We do tech support, so we've got the computer setup on remote desktop so we can walk users through various "vista" settings).

If you want "My Computer" on your desktop right click on some empty space on the desktop and go to "Personalize" at the bottom of that list.

On the next screen click "Change Desktop Icons" on the left hand side.

Check "computer" then click ok. (Vista just renamed "My Computer" to "Computer" but it's the same basic thing).

_________________
"Everyone has a plan 'till they get punched in the mouth." - Mike Tyson


Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:54 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 5:51 pm
Posts: 8059
Location: Kentucky
Post 
Minniman wrote:
Demi wrote:
Minniman wrote:
Did you have the store put on Windows XP and save the Vista discs for later, or did you register Vista?

Way to try and kill the buzz, buzzkill!


Yeah, because letting people fall into a snakepit is your idea of fun?

It was a simple question. One of the things I do on the side is playtest and betatest computer games. Vista is a scourge. Games that run full speed on XP can often run at 3/4 speed on Vista or worse.

Try running gimped games in an FPS, and you could be dead - especially if it a multiplayer game. Lag and choppy screens are not my idea of fun.

If one can do it, it is best to load XP and save Vista for later. Some people cannot do it, so it is moot, but heavy gamers certainly do it often with new machines.

Minniman


I'm not surprised. I was amazed at the "recommended minimum requirements" for Windows Vista.

However Minniman, as much as you like gaming, I suspect that you'll be switching to Vista before too much longer, as DirectX 10 will not be compatible with Windows XP.

_________________
"Everyone has a plan 'till they get punched in the mouth." - Mike Tyson


Mon Aug 13, 2007 1:24 pm
Profile
Commissioner

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 4:24 pm
Posts: 23761
Post 
Quote:
I'm not surprised. I was amazed at the "recommended minimum requirements" for Windows Vista.

However Minniman, as much as you like gaming, I suspect that you'll be switching to Vista before too much longer, as DirectX 10 will not be compatible with Windows XP.


And I doubt Dawn will be doing much first person gaming! Vista is fine for most average computer users. Just like XP was early on. By the time Directx 10 is released most issues should have workarounds if not fixed. Heck, I was using windows 98 until they quit releasing patches and drivers for it. I'll be sticking to XP for quite a while!


Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:17 pm
Profile
Hall of Famer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:07 am
Posts: 7415
Location: Vikingland Minnesota
Post 
Quote:
It didn't come with CDs. But I'm going to put my XP hard drive in it and see what happens. If it works, I'll slave the Vista drive. So far, I have to say I like XP. The jury is out on Vista. But I *have* changed everything to 'Windows Classic', so it feels more like a familiar computer.


In order to use XP, you would need XP or XP compatable drivers. Some new machines do not have them. Yes, it is a plot to force Vista on us. Developers can't even use .dll files that would allow games to work with Windows 98se.

Quote:
However Minniman, as much as you like gaming, I suspect that you'll be switching to Vista before too much longer, as DirectX 10 will not be compatible with Windows XP.


Many computers sold with Vista won't work worth a darn with DirectX10 games anyway, but your point is valid.

Quote:
And I doubt Dawn will be doing much first person gaming! Vista is fine for most average computer users.


Maybe Dawn would like to play Assassin's Creed or Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Perhaps she wants to play WoW or Everquest II online. Maybe she wants to play as the Vikings in Madden NFL 08 or has been waiting to purchase Age of Empires III or Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.

One never knows.

_________________
We come from the land of the ice and snow .... :smilevike:


Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:07 am
Profile
All Pro Elite Player
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:45 pm
Posts: 1281
Location: Zenith City of the Inland Seas
Post 
[quote="DemiAnd I doubt Dawn will be doing much first person gaming! Vista is fine for most average computer users.[/quote]

You can't get them all right. I love FPS. Got MOHAA on the 'puter right now. Want to get AOE III and Commandos 3. I'll be loading Quake and Hexen, too, just to see if they'll work on the duo core processor. And I'll probably be getting COD sometime in the future.

Can't get Alpha Centauri Alien Crossfire to work on the new computer, though, and it's makin' me mad. I love that game! I'm just going to load everything I've got on it and hope most of them work.




Dawn
Duke Nukem rocks!


Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:43 pm
Profile
Hall of Famer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:07 am
Posts: 7415
Location: Vikingland Minnesota
Post 
Quote:
I love FPS. Got MOHAA on the 'puter right now.


There we are.

It's nice to read that you play many types of games.

Quote:
Alpha Centauri Alien Crossfire


That is a Windows 98se game (1999 release), so the .dll files are likely not on the computer or changed enough to make the game incompatable.

It is a good idea to keep your old computer for older games.

What graphics are in the new machine? Some new machines are lacking in graphics firepower and on board installed memory.

Minniman

_________________
We come from the land of the ice and snow .... :smilevike:


Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:14 pm
Profile
Hall of Famer
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2003 11:39 am
Posts: 5948
Post 
Minniman wrote:
or Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.


I have not had any problems with Oblivion, except that I can't play it with all the visual candy on. But that is pretty secondary to me, anyway.

BGM

_________________
"You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline. It helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer." - Frank Zappa


Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:20 pm
Profile
Hall of Famer

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:12 pm
Posts: 5063
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Post 
Minniman wrote:
Quote:
It didn't come with CDs. But I'm going to put my XP hard drive in it and see what happens. If it works, I'll slave the Vista drive. So far, I have to say I like XP. The jury is out on Vista. But I *have* changed everything to 'Windows Classic', so it feels more like a familiar computer.


In order to use XP, you would need XP or XP compatable drivers. Some new machines do not have them. Yes, it is a plot to force Vista on us. Developers can't even use .dll files that would allow games to work with Windows 98se.

Quote:
However Minniman, as much as you like gaming, I suspect that you'll be switching to Vista before too much longer, as DirectX 10 will not be compatible with Windows XP.


Many computers sold with Vista won't work worth a darn with DirectX10 games anyway, but your point is valid.

Quote:
And I doubt Dawn will be doing much first person gaming! Vista is fine for most average computer users.


Maybe Dawn would like to play Assassin's Creed or Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Perhaps she wants to play WoW or Everquest II online. Maybe she wants to play as the Vikings in Madden NFL 08 or has been waiting to purchase Age of Empires III or Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.

One never knows.

I play World of Warcraft some and played a ton of Call of Duty over the years. I am sure I will get the next Call of Duty, let me know if you get it and what server you play on for multiplayer....I'd love to frag your a$$! :D


Tue Aug 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Profile
Hall of Famer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:07 am
Posts: 7415
Location: Vikingland Minnesota
Post 
Yeah, right.

I don't play many FPS games, although there are some nice looking games coming out soon. Even with that, they are all sort of the same, run, fire, change weapon, fire, reload, rinse, repeat.

I play more strategy games and wargames, and I generally beta test those.

I used to play Everquest when it was new. It was fun back then.

World of Warcraft looks sort of awful with all of the EGA colors. Purple, Green, and Orange are so 80's. I guess it plays all right, but I just cannot get into it.

I'd love to see a real online roleplaying game rather than a slashfest treadmill.

_________________
We come from the land of the ice and snow .... :smilevike:


Wed Aug 15, 2007 1:50 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 5:51 pm
Posts: 8059
Location: Kentucky
Post 
Minniman wrote:
Yeah, right.

I don't play many FPS games, although there are some nice looking games coming out soon. Even with that, they are all sort of the same, run, fire, change weapon, fire, reload, rinse, repeat.

I play more strategy games and wargames, and I generally beta test those.

I used to play Everquest when it was new. It was fun back then.

World of Warcraft looks sort of awful with all of the EGA colors. Purple, Green, and Orange are so 80's. I guess it plays all right, but I just cannot get into it.

I'd love to see a real online roleplaying game rather than a slashfest treadmill.


With all the new games that come out on a regular basis the game I find myself playing more than any other is Chain of Command. It's a war/strategy real time multiplayer game that came out in the mid/late 90s lol

The graphics are horrible and it's a little glitchy, but it's a fun game.

_________________
"Everyone has a plan 'till they get punched in the mouth." - Mike Tyson


Wed Aug 15, 2007 8:03 am
Profile
All Pro Elite Player
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:45 pm
Posts: 1281
Location: Zenith City of the Inland Seas
Post 
Minniman wrote:
What graphics are in the new machine? Some new machines are lacking in graphics firepower and on board installed memory.



It came with NVidia GeForce 6150 SE graphics. But a had another GeForce card ready to go in if it didn't.

The problem with the old computer isn't it really wasn't my old computer. It was something I got from work just so I could have some kind of computer when mine went down. But I suppose I could put another hard drive in it and load SMAX on it so I can play it. But that's a bit of a pain in the butt. On the new computer I get a 'CPU Not supported' message.




Dawn


Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:02 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 27 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.