Technical Question on phone

Run into some old friends from another group or board? Want to do a little schmoozing, talk over old times? Or just some off topic stuff, then this is the place.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
jackal
Strong Safety
Posts: 11575
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 2:05 am
Location: California

Technical Question on phone

Post by jackal » Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:16 am

# Carrier: T-Mobile
# Modes: GSM 850 / GSM 900 / GSM 1800 / GSM 1900
# Weight: 4.70 oz
# Dimensions: 4.30" x 2.70" x 0.80"
# Form Factor: Bar; Internal Antenna
I have had trouble getting a signal inside my work.
Some people get a great signal fine. I have had two
two seperate companies and still having the problem.

I think of getting a Rim Blackberry 8700g which has
quad-band ? Does this search for signal on all four
bands ? Or do you have to just pick one and stick with it?
The figures above are the stats on this phone.

If anyone can help me with this i would really appreciate it.
no one expects the Spanish Inquisition!

User avatar
Cliff
Site Admin
Posts: 8404
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 5:51 pm
Location: Kentucky

Post by Cliff » Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:39 pm

I don't know anything about that phone in particular, but I do know there are several "antenna" type deals you can stick onto your phones battery that are supposed to help the signal strength.

Here's an example of one;
http://www.asiafinest.com/shopping/cell ... ooster.htm


they're only like $5 so even if it's a bust, it's not a very big gamble.
"Everyone has a plan 'til they get punched in the mouth." - Mike Tyson

User avatar
jackal
Strong Safety
Posts: 11575
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 2:05 am
Location: California

thanks

Post by jackal » Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:52 pm

I found a bundle of six of them on ebay
for three bucks so there on the way.

Thanks for the response cliff

I am probably still gonna by the blackberry so
I can use email on the run so to speak.
no one expects the Spanish Inquisition!

User avatar
glg
Site Admin
Posts: 10851
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 9:44 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Technical Question on phone

Post by glg » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:35 pm

jackal wrote:I think of getting a Rim Blackberry 8700g which has
quad-band ? Does this search for signal on all four
bands ? Or do you have to just pick one and stick with it?
The figures above are the stats on this phone
Quad band means it's a "world" phone. We use different frequency bands in the US then they do in Europe. 2 of the bands are US, two are Europe. The phone will look for a signal on all 4 bands, but obviously only can find anything on two.

User avatar
jackal
Strong Safety
Posts: 11575
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 2:05 am
Location: California

thanks

Post by jackal » Tue Aug 07, 2007 9:25 pm

thanks GLG

I wasn't sure how they worked thanks for clearing it up
for me.
no one expects the Spanish Inquisition!

Post Reply